Tardelli and Dasilva Deliver at Broome-Tioga Season Opener

Loretta Lynn's 2010 AMA Amateur National Motocross Championships

Area Qualifier- Saturday, April 10, 2010

By Jim Sanderson


The Broome-Tioga Sports Center kicked off the 2010 season with a great two-day event, the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championships Area Qualifier. Rider turnout was excellent and Mother Nature provided a decent day of blue skies and temperatures in the low 50’s but kept it interesting with some pretty significant wind throughout the day.

KTM pilot, Abbrielle Tardelli topped the Women’s division podium with a 1-2 score. Tardelli led the opening moto and rode wire to wire to take the moto win with a three second advantage. Brittany Gagne took runner-up tier on the podium. Gagne finished third in the first moto and took a commanding win in the second moto after working her way from a third place start to take the lead before the end of the first lap and pull away to take the checkers with a five second advantage. Sonia Williams completed the podium with a 6-3 tally.

Tardelli and Joanna Fake battled for the holeshot as the pack exited the switchback first turn in the opening Women’s moto. Gagne, Nykea Williams and Anisha French rounded out the top five. Tardelli exited the challenging front rhythm section with the lead and began to pull away. Tardelli had a four second lead by the start of lap three. Gagne and Williams moved up taking second and third, displacing Fake to fourth. French held fifth but was beginning to be challenged for the position by Sonia Williams in sixth. Fake and Williams battled back and forth, swapping position several times until Williams re-took third for good with a lap and a half to go. Gagne reduced Tardelli’s lead to three seconds at the start of lap four but gave up second in the last corner on the last lap when Williams squeezed by to steal second. Gagne, Fake and French completed the top five.

Sonia Williams, Tardelli, Gagne, French and Casey Hubbell led the start of the final Women’s moto. Gagne took the point in the front section with Tardelli in tow. Williams was relegated to third, French and Hubbell remained fourth and fifth. Fake passed Hubbell taking fifth at the end of lap one. The top five began to spread out on lap two. Gagne had a three second lead at the start of the lap and increased it to four seconds at the white flag and took the checkers for the win five seconds ahead of Tardelli. Williams, French and Fake followed.


85cc 12-14

Colton Camp, Connor Ference, Christopher Dasilva, Scott Stone and Vincent Murphy led the start of the first 85cc 12-14 Stock moto. Camp continued to lead the pack after the front rhythm section but was now being challenged by Dasilva in second. Ference was relegated to third. Fourth and fifth were unchanged. Dasilva passed Camp in the final turns of lap two to secure the lead and quickly pulled away. Dasilva took the win with a nine second lead. Ference, Camp and Cole Barbieri closed out the top five.


Dasilva, Ference and Camp led the pack out of the first turn in the final 85cc 12-14 Stock class moto. Dasilva quickly gapped the field by three seconds and was adding about a second per lap to his lead. Dasilva took the checkered flag seven seconds ahead of Ference. Camp, Schae Thomas and Dylan Wright rounded out the top five.




Dasilva (1-1) topped the podium. Ference (2-2) took second and Camp (3-3) third.






Photos courtesy of Jim Sanderson.


joomla 1.5 statistics